Dynamics 365 Business Central - Changing Basic Settings

Changing basic settings in Dynamics 365 Business Central is easy! Learn how with our short how-to video.

 

As Dynamics 365 Business Central opens, you will see your own personalised role centre specifically tailored for your working day. The role centre represents the home page, where you have an overview of the business. At the top, Dynamics 365 Business Central displays clickable links that gives you easy access to customers, vendors, items and so on.

In the centre you find the Activities tiles. Activities show current data and can be clicked or tapped for easy access to the selected document. The Insights section can be set up to display a selected chart for a visual representation of, for example, cash flow or income and expenses.

You can also build up a list of Favourite Accounts on the home page for accounts that you need to pay special attention to. At the top of the home page you will find all of the actions that can be applied to the current content.

The default Role Centre is Business Manager, but you can select another Role Centre that fits your needs better. In the 'My Settings' window, you can see and change basic settings. Look for the cog icon in the top right of the role centre and click it to open the 'Edit My Settings' window.

A company functions as a container for data. There can be multiple companies in a database, but only one can be selected at a time. The default company is called CRONUS and contains demonstration data only. If you want to display a different name for your company in the application (such as on the home page), set the Name field on the Company Information page or the Display Name field on the Companies page.

The default work date is usually today's date. You may have to temporarily change the work date to be able to perform tasks, such as completing transactions for a date that is not the current date. Type w to quickly enter the work date in a date field. Write t to quickly enter the current date in the date field.

The work date is only changed until you close the company or until the date changes. If you open a different company or open the same company the next day and still have to use a different work date, then you must set the work date again.